Maine is very strict on DUI laws


You are OUI in Maine if your blood alcohol content is .08% or higher. Following your arrest, based on the police report and blood alcohol content (BAC) test results, the Secretary of State will immediately suspend your license.

Maine is very tough on Operating Under the Influence (OUI). You can be guilty found of OUI if you have a .08% or higher blood alcohol content (BAC) or are affected to the slightest degree by alcohol or drugs, including prescription drugs. Maine reports all convictions to the home state or province for reciprocal suspensions. The maximum penalty for a misdemeanor OUI is 364 days in jail, a $2,000 fine and loss of license. The maximum penalty for a felony OUI is 5 years in jail, a $5,000 fine and loss of license. There is a 14% surcharge on all fines plus other fees ranging from $40 to $130 upon conviction. The following penalties are minimums. Some courts exceed the minimum penalties upon conviction. Often the prosecutor will check with your home state to see if you have an OUI/DWI/DUI there. If you do, that will count as a prior offense. The minimum penalties for a 1st OUI within 10 years are $400 fine and 90 days suspension (60 days no work restricted license.) Aggravating factors (BAC of .15% or above, speeding 30+ mph over the limit or minor in the vehicle) carry a mandatory 2-day minimum jail sentence. There is a mandatory 4-day minimum sentence for refusing a BAC test if convicted of OUI. A 2nd offense has a mandatory 7-day jail (12 days if refusal), 18 month suspension w/o restricted license and $600 fine ($800 refusal.) A 3rd offense has a mandatory 30-day jail (40 days if refusal), 4 year suspension w/o restricted license and $1,000 fine ($800 refusal.) A 4th offense or any OUI causing serious bodily injury is a felony. It has a mandatory minimum 6-month jail (add 20 days if refusal), 6 year suspension w/o restricted license and $600 fine ($800 refusal.) There are additional suspensions of 9 months for refusing a test and having a minor in the vehicle. You can be suspended for these periods even if you are not convicted, before you ever go to court. You must complete an alcohol evaluation and treatment program to have driving privileges restored.

DWI First Offender Penalties


No jail time on a first offense with no aggravating factors. 48 hours on a first offense with aggravating factors. Aggravating factors include a BAC of .15 percent or more, or traveling 30 m.p.h. or more over the speed limit, or attempting to elude an officer of the law, or having a passenger under 21 years of age.



License Suspension

90 days. The law requires an additional 275 day suspension be imposed by the court or the Secretary of State if you were transporting a passenger under 21. Reinstatement Fee: $30.

Test Refusal

If you are found guilty of OUI based on the police officer's testimony, your refusal to take a test will be considered as an aggravating factor by the judge and another suspension of 90 days, as well as mandatory 96 hours jail time, will be tacked on. Refusal to be tested results in a loss of license for at least 275 days which is consecutive to any suspension imposed for an OUI conviction (see above).


1st OUI offenders with aggravating factors must participate in an alcohol education program called the Driver Education Evaluation Program (DEEP). Maine also uses the Weekend Intervention Program (WIP).


According to your assessment determination; when you have a problem which requires treatment, you will be referred to a community-based service provider approved by the Office of Substance Abuse. Cost varies and you must pay.

Alcohol Ignition Interlock

Can be used to reduce license suspension period. The device prevents you from driving your vehicle if you have any alcohol at all in your system.

Related listings

  • Louisiana Dui information

    Louisiana Dui information

    DUI Law 08/23/2015

    Louisiana First Offender You are DWI/DUI in Louisiana if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .10% or greater. First Offense Penalties Jail 10 days to 6 months. If you had a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15% or higher, at least 48...

  • Kentucky DUI laws and Information

    Kentucky DUI laws and Information

    DUI Law 08/23/2014

    You Are DUI When: When your blood alcohol content (BAC) is.08 or higher, you are DUI in Kentucky. The test must be given within 2 hours of operation of motor vehicle for results to be admitted into evidence in DUI prosecutions. Operators can be convi...

  • Iowa DUI laws and information for offenders

    Iowa DUI laws and information for offenders

    DUI Law 08/23/2014

    Iowa First Offender You are OWI (Operating While Intoxicated ) in Iowa if your blood alcohol content BAC) is 08% or higher. First Offense Penalties OWI is a serious misdemeanor punishable by: Jail: Up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000, or both...

Illinois Work Injury Lawyers – Krol, Bongiorno & Given, LTD.

Accidents in the workplace are often caused by unsafe work conditions arising from ignoring safety rules, overlooking maintenance or other negligence of those in management. While we are one of the largest firms in Illinois dedicated solely to the representation of injured workers, we pride ourselves on the personal, one-on-one approach we deliver to each client.

Work accidents can cause serious injuries and sometimes permanent damage. Some extremely serious work injuries can permanently hinder a person’s ability to get around and continue their daily duties. Factors that affect one’s quality of life such as place of work, relationships with friends and family, and social standing can all be taken away quickly by a work injury. Although, you may not be able to recover all of your losses, you may be entitled to compensation as a result of your work injury. Krol, Bongiorno & Given, LTD. provides informed advocacy in all kinds of workers’ compensation claims, including:

• Injuries to the back and neck, including severe spinal cord injuries
• Serious head injuries
• Heart problems resulting from workplace activities
• Injuries to the knees, elbows, shoulders and other joints
• Injuries caused by repetitive movements

For Illinois Workers’ Compensation claims, you will ALWAYS cheat yourself if you do not hire an experienced attorney. When you hire Krol, Bongiorno & Given, Ltd, you will have someone to guide you through the process, and when it is time to settle, we will add value to your case IN EXCESS of our fee. In the last few years, employers and insurance carriers have sought to advance the argument that when you settle a case without an attorney, your already low settlement should be further reduced by 20% so that you do not get a “windfall.” Representing yourself in Illinois is a lose-lose proposition.